top of page
Search
  • Jennifer Tran

Life Amidst COVID

The more chaos I see in the news, the more thankful I am for what is happening in my own life. I have seen the joy of children back at school along with the excitement of teachers getting back to what they do best. I have seen parents fighting to do what is right for their children. I have seen veteran students guiding new students. I have seen teachers swapping ideas, student observations, and (of course) Zoom advice. I have seen Priests visiting classrooms and chatting with students at lunch. I have seen Sisters shooting bows and playing pickleball. I have seen bugs fleeing from the grasps of our second graders. I have seen educators, learners, and guardians shedding tears of worry, love, and joy.


What I have been especially thankful to see is my three-month-old son giggle at the silly faces my husband makes along with his clasping hands and crazy eyebrows. Oliver Jeffery Tran is the life that shines through my pandemic similar to how our school full of children and educators has brought St. Peter back to life. We may not give as many hugs; we may have to cover our faces; and we may have to adjust our schedules. But we are still the same community of God.


Amidst the chaos and fear of this virus, we have been given the gift of a true appreciation of being physically present as we learn and teach at St. Peter School.


The following is a poem written by St. Peter's Viann Martin that describes our situation beautifully and how we must trust in God to get through it. She thought of this previously written poem when she heard Sister Michael's ending line from the garden video in the opening Newsletter: "This year we are called not just to survive but to thrive."


"My Heart is at Home"


My heart is at home

With the great unknown.

“Control of my future”

Is a farce to dethrone.

God holds the big picture

He holds all I “own.”

His hand will allow me

To find peace in the storm.

And as the winds whirl and

Blow change through my “home,”

I can grow through the trials

Because God’s on His throne.

His Spirit is breathing

New life and great hope.

My spirit is healing

To THRIVE not just cope.

188 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page